top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndrea Hintz

Meet Karen Laven! Voice of "Salon Lady" in Upcoming Perception and Deception Audiobook!


Today, we're interviewing Karen Laven, the voice of one of my awesome "Salon Ladies" in the upcoming full cast audiobook production of Perception and Deception: A Spy Series!


Details and updates about the production can be found here: https://andreahintz.wixsite.com/andreahintz/audiobooks


So without further ado, let's begin the interview!


Tell us about the role you are playing in the full cast audiobook production of Perception and Deception: A Spy Series!

Greetings! I am tickled pink to be part of Andrea Hintz’s project, Perception and Deception: A Spy Series. I play a “bickering old lady.” I seem to get cast in those types of roles more and more lately. Hmm. The role was a blast to record. Andrea gave me plenty of room to give my own take on the character; an actor’s dream!


What’s your story? How did you end up in the exciting career of acting?

I started acting while I was in college. I worked in an improv group for a year, and then I joined the real workforce. Improv back then paid in cookies. I drifted away from the stage after I got married and had my two sons. While they were still young I acted in Community Theater and then did featured extra roles for films such as Sugar & Spice, Drop Dead Gorgeous, Joey Somebody, etc. It got me out of the house and gave me some spending money. I then did lots of student films; some PSA’s and joined a comedy group (cable access) from St. Paul. I was a newspaper feature writer and reporter for seven years, and then we moved to Kentucky, ya’ll.


I’ve been writing books since coming here including a middle grade humor book, Quit Bugging Me, and some romance parody and other nonfiction projects. (I also DJ’ed at a Cincinnati radio station for a year.) I got back on stage at True Theatre in Cincinnati where I performed a 15 minute piece I’d written about my struggle with agoraphobia/shyness. (That’s another story!)


Been doing some commercials here in Cincy, some films, cable and other acting projects in the past few years, and since Covid hit, lots of voice acting projects, including playing the mother of the main character in, In Plain Sight, a new game by FireYSide, which will be out on Steam this year. Very exciting! I seem to particularly enjoy playing irritated, flawed old bats (my parents named me right!). I might as well enjoy them because I’m getting cast in those roles regularly. No complaints!


We have other actors and voice actors who subscribe to this blog. What piece of advice would you give to someone just starting out in these careers?

My advice to actors, in general, is to watch/listen to the best in the biz. Listen to their style, vocal range, expressions, and utterances. How does it affect you? A great performance can give you chills. I believe you get better by finding and listening to the best of the best and then rehearse, rehearse, rehearse! The more you are prepared the less likely nerves or something unexpected will toss you off track. Do not give up. You will say you are going to and you might for a little while, but if you are meant to pursue this work you will find yourself inching back. It isn’t really a choice for many.


We have a bit of a Christian community subscribed to this blog as well who like to hear about inspiring stories involving walks of faith. If you have a story you’d like to share about this, please feel free to do so.

I am Catholic, and truth be told, God has been pivotal in helping me navigate not only daily/family life, but my professional life, as well. He gets me through the lows (of which there are many) and the highs (it’s surprising how fear-inducing some forms of success can be). I am super pleased to be part of such a dedicated, talented, and KIND, Christian author’s work. Peace to all!


Where can we find more of your work?

My website is KarenLaven.NET. It needs a serious update almost as much as I do. Ha. Would still love for you to stop by.



Thanks, Andrea, for casting me in such a fun role. I appreciate it.


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page