top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndrea Hintz

Meet Jarrad Biron Green! Voice of Juro and Kalvin in Upcoming Perception and Deception Audiobook!



Today, we're interviewing Jarrad Biron Green, the voice of Juro (AKA Howard Watanabe) and Kalvin in the upcoming full cast audiobook production of Perception and Deception: A Spy Series!


Details and updates about the production can be found here: https://andreahintz.wixsite.com/andreahintz/audiobooks


So without further ado, let's begin the interview!


Tell us about the role you are playing in the full cast audiobook production of Perception and Deception: A Spy Series!

I play both Juro and Kalvin in Perception and Deception: A Spy Series!


Juro is an incredibly layered character and I absolutely am a huge fan of his! He reminds me of the teacher/leader type character you would find in an anime (who already went on their own hero's journey) who is a bit jaded and emotionally stunted, but is an absolute badass and deep down has a very big heart. I also thoroughly enjoy his very dry sense of humor and the relationship he develops with the character Felix.


Kalvin, on the other hand, is a very insecure and self-conscious bully who projects a false sense of bravado to assume the power and leadership position of his group of friends. He is just a prime example of toxic masculinity and clearly has a troubled home life with years of therapy waiting for him down the line.


What’s your story? How did you end up in the exciting career of acting?

I have always been fascinated by the theatre and the stage since I was a toddler and my parents enrolled me in a summer program called "Playground Theatre" where a couple would write an original story line and songs based around whatever characters the kids wanted to play. The first role I got to portray onstage was Woody from Toy Story since I was obsessed with that movie since I can remember. Eventually I attended New York University and received a degree in Vocal Performance, concentrating in Musical Theatre. I have performed in a national tour, many regional shows, on cruise ships, a few short films, and only recently got into Voice Acting during the pandemic.


As a voice actor in general, what types of roles do you portray the best? Which human characteristics do you enjoy acting out the most?

As a more recent voice actor, I tend to be drawn toward the larger than life types of characters. I absolutely adore doing crazy and kooky type voices and any character with a New York/Italian accent. I really hope to pursue voice acting in animation down the road as I learn more about this specific side of the entertainment industry!


We have other actors and voice actors who subscribe to this blog. What piece of advice would you give to someone just starting out in these careers?

For someone just starting out, I would say the most important thing to do is to always put yourself in situations where you are at least ever so slightly out of your comfort zone. It is always good to try new things out and you shouldn't let the fear of failing get in your head too much. Failing is a natural part of shaping you as an artist and, over time, these once uncomfortable situations might turn out to be your new favorite thing where you shine brightest.


Any special tips or “hacks” for recording a great narration?

For narrating, I would say the most important thing is to really visualize being exactly in the place or circumstance you are describing in great detail. Of course it shouldn't feel melodramatic or overly involved, but there should be a subtle sense of connection to it that really drives the energy forward and keeps a sense of discovery as you continue fleshing out the portrait of the world you are creating for others to be a part of.


Links:

Nowadays, I have been recording a lot of Vocal Covers of different songs and you can find those on my YouTube page! I also have all of my singing, acting, dancing, and voiceover reels on there as well if you'd like to check them out!


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page