top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndrea Hintz

Interview With Tod Walker - Voice of Wolf in Upcoming Perception and Deception Audiobook!



Today, we're interviewing Tod Walker, the voice of Wolf and Mr. Henderson in the upcoming full cast audiobook production of Perception and Deception: A Spy Series! Details and updates about the production can be found here: https://andreahintz.wixsite.com/andreahintz/audiobooks So without further ado, let's begin the interview! Tell us about the role you are playing in the full cast audiobook production of Perception and Deception: A Spy Series! In Andrea's spy series I play the part of Wolf and Mr. Henderson. Wolf is Felix's mentor, boss, colleague and father figure. She has a comfort level with Wolf even though she has never met Wolf in person. In fact, she doesn't even know his real name! Mr. Henderson is within the cast of characters she meets on her assignment in Toselville. What’s your story? How did you end up in the exciting career of acting? Thanks for allowing me to be a part of your ambitious project! Acting had an organic beginning for me when I was around 11. My friends and I liked to make funny spoofs of commercials and soap opera's on cassette tapes. It was a blast and fun to make funny voices and come up with wild characters. Then, after fierce competition (lol) for the role, I was cast as Scrooge in the 6th grade production of A Christmas Carol. The bug got me good and I acted in many plays in high school and throughout college. Eventually earning a B.F.A. in Performing Arts at Webster University in St. Louis, MO.

As a voice actor in general, what types of roles do you portray the best? Which human characteristics do you enjoy acting out the most? There's so many great roles I've loved playing, but I have always enjoyed being cast in an Agatha Christie mystery. Oscar Wilde, Noel Coward, Carole Churchill, Shakespeare are other British playwrights I enjoy bringing to life on stage. I also enjoy sinking my teeth into a good corrupt, villainous character type! We have other actors and voice actors who subscribe to this blog. What piece of advice would you give to someone just starting out in these careers? For me voice over has been an added tool in my utility belt. I took a considerable time away from performing (20 years!) and I've recently rekindled my appetite after being cast in some great roles at a local theatre. The message I can share from my experience is don't ever think you can't do it any more. If you love it, it has a way of finding you and bringing you back to what you love. Keep an open mind, and if you have the passion, pursue it. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain. Whether in the people you meet, the relationships formed and the experiences of honing your craft. Of course, if you can make a little money that's always a bonus! Any special tips or “hacks” for recording a great narration? I recommend the BlueYeti microphone and Audacity recording app as a good base to getting started. Easy to set up and there's YouTube vids on how to use Audacity. Currently, I'm looking to build my V.O. resume, profile and web presence. I'm terrible at self promotion...a tragic flaw that I must correct! Perception & Deception is my first official role in an audio book project. Thank you, Andrea! Where can we find more of your work? Here's my Backstage.com profile: https://www.backstage.com/u/tod-walker-1 We have a bit of a Christian community subscribed to this blog as well who like to hear about inspiring stories involving walks of faith. If you have a story you’d like to share about this, please feel free to do so. I can appreciate my own personal journey back to performing in the way my faith played a large role. I knew that one day I would find my way back to the stage and enjoy it as much as always, but I just didn't know how it would happen. I prayed and meditated on it for a long time. When a perfect opportunity presented itself I took the proverbial "leap of faith" and went for it. After not auditioning or performing for all those years I stuck my neck out and took a chance and auditioned for Spider's Web (yep, an Agatha Christie mystery!). I figured I had a good chance at getting cast in a small part in a theatre community that's been around for 90 years, but I didn't expect to get the male lead as Sir Rowland Delahaye! I thank God, my friends and most importantly my family for their support and encouragement.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page