top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndrea Hintz

Interview With Mark Love - Author



Mark Love is a great mystery author and active member of the writing community. I had the privilege of meeting him on Twitter about two years ago, and as I've gotten to know him and his work, the kindness he shows to other writers is just incredible. It's well known that he shares his good writing fortunes with others. I've gotten to experience this firsthand. Mark interviewed me on his own blog as well as got me a spot on a local radio show ("Dr. Paul's Family Talk") where I was interviewed about my own books. I've also had the chance to hear Mark's radio interviews, and he's extremely well spoken, professional, and fun to listen to. So I'm sure you can imagine how excited I am to be featuring him on my website today! Without further ado, let's begin!


Can you, for those who don't know you already, tell something about yourself and how you became an author?

I’ve been an avid reader forever and was always intrigued with the notion of writing stories. I took a couple of creative writing classes in college and studied journalism, eventually working as a freelance reporter for several Detroit area newspapers. That was good experience and helped sharpen my skills. After getting a few short stories published, I turned my efforts to writing mystery novels.

Which of your novels can you imagine made into a movie?

While I think they all would make great movies, or a television series, I’ve had a number of readers tell me that “Why 319?” would make an excellent movie. There are plenty of twists and turns in the story about the serial killer, which would keep the audience guessing.


Tell us a little bit about the characters in “Why 319?.”

The story is told from the point of view of Sergeant Jefferson Chene, who is a key detective in a major case squad with the Michigan State Police. Chene was abandoned at birth and his name comes from the Detroit intersection where he was found. Raised in a Catholic orphanage, Chene has difficulty with relationships and little experience dating, but he’s skeptical, analytical and effective as a cop. He works under the guidance of Captain ‘Pappy’ Cantrell, a transplanted southerner who demands the best from the five detectives who are the core of Squad Six. While Chene may lead the investigation, Pappy manages the political nature and power struggles of the department.

Do the characters all come to you at the same time or do some of them come to you as you write?

They arrive as I write. Often certain characteristics or physical traits may stem from someone I know or have interacted with. The characters themselves will take on a life of their own, complete with flaws and conflicts. It’s important to me that the players are believable, that readers can identify with them as they interact in the story.

What is your writing process? For instance, do you do an outline first? Do you do the chapters first?

I can’t work with an outline. It’s too restrictive for me. I’ll begin with a general idea and one or two main characters. Then I get them started and just run alongside them and see where it leads. I write scenes as they appeal to me, often out of sequence for the story line. Then I’ll read those over and see what other segments need to be written to tie it all together. It would probably drive most people crazy, but it works well for me.


Drop everything and buy his books here!


Make sure to check out his website and social media pages as well!



Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page