top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndrea Hintz

Interview With Liane Carmen - Author



Today’s special guest is Liane Carmen, an incredible author specializing in fast-paced thrillers that will leave you wanting more. I had the opportunity to read Liane Carmen’s newest book, “Where the Truth Hides,” and all throughout, this book made me laugh out loud, cry, and feel so many emotions. This will easily develop into an addicting book series and it would make a fantastic movie or television series. It has all the right suspense and cliffhangers to leave me wanting more and more and more. And as a new author, she is successfully climbing Amazon book rankings in a way that is unheard of! Let’s begin our interview!


Any advice you would give new authors?

As a new author myself, it's hard to think I could give worthy advice. I will share the advice I found most valuable, and it came from a fellow author and backed up the way I already felt.

When I started working with Jonas Saul, a fabulous author who also helps fellow writers with editing, he gave me some great insight. He told me that when a book is poorly edited, the reader is let down. They don't feel the author felt they were important enough to spend the money to properly edit and proofread their book. You only get one chance to make a first impression.


It's so important your book is professional so your reader can lose themselves in the story instead of the fact that it's not edited well. There may be writers who disagree, but I don't really think you can do a final edit of your own material. No matter how many times you read it, there are things that are going to slip by you. I had a small typo that an early reviewer pointed out, and even after she told me, I still couldn't see it when I read and reread that sentence. I thought I was going crazy!


How do you feel about reviews?

I never gave much thought to reviews until I became an author. I remember the first one I got on the book for an advance reader copy I had sent out. I keep reading it and rereading it. She loved it! That is the most incredible validation for something you have put your heart and soul (and time and money!) into. Reviews really are important to an author. Good reviews help the author sell more books.

It's important to have a thick skin though. Even the most well-known authors don't always get five stars on their books. Not every book is for every person, and that's okay. But the ones you do touch – there's no better feeling.


What did you enjoy most about writing and publishing this book?

Seeing my book evolve from the earliest draft (which was way too long) into the version readers have today has been a labor of love.


I felt like the first draft gave away the twist too early, and I hated that. As a suspense reader, I always try to figure out what's going on throughout the book, but I don't REALLY want to be right! When I started circulating the revised draft to beta readers, I felt this tingle when they told me they didn't guess the ending. But those were people I knew. Were they just being nice?


When I put advance review copies out there, I held my breath. When time and again, reviewers said they loved it and were shocked by the ending. I let out a sigh of relief. One of the reviewers wrote, "You probably shouldn't try to guess the ending. If you do, good luck getting it right." I loved that! There is nothing more gratifying than knowing something you put your heart and soul into has been enjoyed.


Who do you believe is the audience for your book?

I do believe my book is meant for women. Although men have read it (and said they enjoyed it …), I think the topics and emotions from the main characters will resonate more with women. The story is as much a DNA mystery as it is a story about the friendship of Becky and Jules.


Anyone fascinated by DNA, or anyone who has used it and become obsessed like I have, should be the perfect reader for this book. My hope also is that women impacted by infertility or adoption will see themselves represented by Becky and Jules. And of course, there's my suspense readers. If you love a book where you try to guess the ending but get a huge twist at the end, this book is for you.


How did you come up with the concept and characters for the book?

I knew I wanted to write a story about the secrets that can be uncovered by doing a DNA test. We have been touched by adoption in our family, so I wanted one of the main characters to be searching for her birth parents. It was important to me to tell that story. Jules had a great family and upbringing, and yet, she yearned to know why she was given up. It was affecting her ability to find a relationship. For some adoptees, not knowing presents a big void that impacts their lives in ways non-adoptees can't imagine.


The other topic I felt strongly about was infertility. So many women are impacted, but they stay silent as if there's a stigma associated with it. I wanted Becky to shine a light on the struggles and emotions that surround wanting so badly to be a mother. All you warriors, I see you on Twitter and Instagram. I follow your stories. I smile for you when you realize your dream and shed a tear when you don't.


Drop everything and buy her book and future books here!

Make sure to follow her on social media as well and check out her website!


Thank you so much for joining us today! God bless!





Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page