top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndrea Hintz

Interview With David Lucero - Author



Today's special guest is David Lucero, an author of several adventurous books! I had the opportunity to meet David over Twitter, where I found out about his amazing book, "Big Jim." This book follows the story of a great hunter in Africa and his business partner. Together, they own a safari business where they take the wealthy and famous on expensive expeditions so that they can hunt wild beasts out in the wilderness. After a mishap with one of their clients, they stumble upon a young woman journalist who is interested in writing an article about their business. This book contains a ton of adventure and leaves you on the edge of your seat the entire time. My favorite part is the feeling of nostalgia from a golden age. Let's talk to this amazing author!


David Lucero Biography:

David Lucero is a veteran 82nd Airborne Division paratrooper who has lived in several states before taking residence in San Diego, CA. He loves exercising and bicycle riding, camping, walking his dog, and spending time with family and friends. Between work and everyday life, he somehow manages to make time to follow his passion and write.


“I’ve wanted to be an author since I was fourteen years old. You could say it’s my passion and obsession. I’m now at the point in my life that if I don’t read and write every day, I feel like I cheated myself. Crazy, huh?”


David has three published books available at your favorite online retailer and can be ordered from your local bookstore, too. His motto is, “Keep on reading, and I’ll keep on writing!”


How did you become an author?

This happened when I was fourteen years old. I was watching an afternoon movie titled ‘Lawrence of Arabia.’ The person talking about the film said it was based on the experiences of T.E. Lawrence, and that he wrote a book titled, ‘Seven Pillars of Wisdom.’ I was amazed by the idea of how a person could write about their experiences and adventures and decided to try my hand at writing fiction. I’ve been doing it since, and have eight manuscripts written with three published. I recently finished a World War Two story I plan to publish in the near future and completed the sequel to ‘THE SANDMAN,’ my first published novel.

Which of your novels can you imagine being made into a movie?

Actually, I think of all of them being made into a movie while writing. I believe all authors do the same during the writing process. But if I had to choose one, it would be ‘BIG JIM,’ my third published book.

What inspired you to write this book?

I was inspired to write ‘BIG JIM’ after watching the classic films ‘The Snows of Kilimanjaro,’ Mogambo,’ and ‘King Solomon’s Mines.’ They took place during the golden age of African safaris. The romance of driving through vast steppes, jungles, vistas, and looking at Mount Kilimanjaro (the highest peak in Africa) seemed to me as the ultimate adventure. I then decided to write my own story, taking place during the same period (circa 1953). During my research I learned how professional hunters assist the game department in curbing illegal poaching and help protect reservations and wildlife to thrive. I was pleased to learn about this because I myself do not hunt, nor could I bring myself to do so. This was the most difficult part of my story, to write about men on the hunt, but necessary in order to provide the reader authentic details about safari life. I believe the most enjoyable parts of my story are when my main characters are traveling through the African bush, and my lead characters explain to their guest the wonders of Africa. It allowed me to educate readers about life in this territory during this period of history. To be frank, it’s my best written book to date, and I’m very proud of it.

What can we expect from you in the future?

I will always write. It’s now in my blood. As mentioned, I completed a World War Two story I’m excited about. It takes place during the height of the War in the Desert (1942), at a time where victory for the Allies remained in question. I also have completed the sequel to ‘THE SANDMAN,’ and have a plot outline for a sequel to ‘BIG JIM.’ I’ve also an idea about a mystery series, but that will come much later.

What did you enjoy most about writing your World War Two story and ‘BIG JIM?’

I enjoyed the research most of all. I read dozens of books on the subjects and at times found myself in faraway places alongside the characters I read about. I believe this is what people enjoy most about reading. They are taken to far off places where they might not be able to visit in person, but can imagine themselves there from the pages of books we read. Then my putting the stories together in a way for readers to enjoy is always a fun part of writing, too.

What is a pet peeve of yours?

I read my manuscripts three times or more before sending them to an editor for publication. This is necessary to make sure the book flow is how my story is meant to be. It’s time-consuming, but as Stephen King stated, “To write is human, to edit is divine.”

Do you prefer to write in silence or with noise?

I prefer writing in the morning with a pot of coffee at my disposal and the radio turned on to the news. I keep the volume low, but the sound actually helps me focus more than if I sat in complete silence.

Advice you would give new authors?

I read from an author (I don’t remember the name), “If you want to be a writer, you must read a lot and write a lot.” Those words are true to the letter. Make time whenever and however you can. Doing so improves your style. And when someone edits your book, whether it’s a professional editor, a family member, friend, or stranger, take their advice with the mindset of working to make your book better. Remember, our books can only get better as we learn how readers see them through their eyes, not ours. This is a very hard thing to do. We must remember their job is to point out what’s wrong with our book so we might make corrections. Your writing will only get better by reading a lot and writing a lot.


How long on average does it take you to write a book?

About a year. And then another year or longer to edit it myself (I read them three times or more before sending them to the editor). This can be frustrating because of the time, but seeing how like so many other authors, I earn my living doing something else. My job is in sales, but my profession is writing. Unfortunately, this means I don’t have all the time in the world to write. I must make time to write between being with family, friends, work, and doing things I enjoy such as exercising, bike riding, and more. Finding balance is important. Don’t allow yourself to be consumed by writing. You will miss out on a lot of important things in life if you do.


Drop everything and buy his books here!


Make sure to follow him on social media as well!


Thank you so much for joining us today! God bless!



Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page